Training adventures.

Two posts in one day…… oh we KNOW the adventures are rolling!!

Frankie is a good boy.  He really is.  His heart is in the right place.  He loves to be loved, and he wants to be good.  But the boy is a SPAZ!!  I know it has to do with his past, the complete lack of training he has had, the lack of human and humane contact.  He has some MANNERS to learn!!

The main thing that drives me bonkers is his out of control behaviors when he is excited.  He has never been expected to have any self-control before.  Now, he has to SIT and WAIT for everything, and it is like he is an ADHD kid.  Or a kangaroo on crack. 

The worst thing is meal time.  The boy was starved and malnourished, so I get that he wants to eat.  And eat.  And eat.  If I let him, he’d eat himself sick, because, again, he has no self-control.  Initially, I would give him his bowl of kibble, gated off in another room so the Pekes could eat in peace.  Frankie would INHALE 3 cups of kibble in under a minute.  Not kidding.  Now…… I have the perfect solution.  <eg>

THIS, my friends, is a Kong feeder.   It has a weighted bottom, and unscrews top and bottom.  I put 2 cups of kibble into this, have Frankie “sit” before I put it down, and then gate him in my room as he has at it.  It takes him about 15 minutes to get all the kibble out.  Not only does it slow down his eating, it gives him something to play with, and mental stimulation as to HOW to get it out. 

The other cup of kibble I give him, I started using for training.  The boy is so food motivated, he will gladly accept kibble as reward for training.  Let’s just say we are still working on “down.”  You cannot even imagine the self control needed.  I will leave it at that.  LOVE MY FRANKIE BOY!!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. It’s bringing me joy, reading about how Brady is adjusting (and being adjusted) to a loving home. Hugs to both of you! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jenni on April 19, 2011 at 7:25 am

    Brady is a lucky dog, to have you as his Mom. Patience can be hard for a dog with self control issues. Harmony has friend who lives next door to the park and her friend, just adopted a new puppy (husky/bulldog mix Gracey-she’s a beauty). Gracey has absoutely no manners and I get very agarvated, because the kids have no idea how to control the dog. The park is not a good place to bring a dog, with no control manners. So frustrating to watch Gracey, just jump on everyone and the kids don’t have a clue – she just pulls them along. Xena and I walk through the park daily, and Xena does not appreciate Gracey’s self control issues. Some people are just clueless, when it comes to teaching manners to their dog.

    Just venting, good luck with Brady – wish people would think before adopting an animal.

    Reply

  3. Posted by gina shaver on April 19, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I cannot wait to spend more time with the handsome boy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

